Skip to Main Content
Hours: Mon - Fri 8am- 5:30pm EST
(800) 882-4688
Automotive Your Way with

Sales Tax Information

Why is Paragon charging sales tax to states other than Michigan?

On June 21, 2018, the Supreme Court of the United States ruled in favor of the state in South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc. The decision allows states to tax remote sales. This decision established the right for states to define economic thresholds for compliance with state sales tax collection requirements. Paragon Reproductions meets these thresholds in several states that have adopted these economic thresholds, and is now required to collect and remit sales tax on purchases made in those states.

These states are:

  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

Why am I not charged sales tax by other out-of-state retailers?

There are several reasons why this could be the case. Generally speaking, either they are not adhering to the laws, or they simply do not meet the economic thresholds that the various states have put forth.

I'm a reseller in one of the states listed above, how do I become tax exempt?

Our sales tax provider, Avalara, will only allow us to exempt transactions in these states with the proper documentation. The requirement is a copy of your state's sales tax certificate, with your business name, business address, tax ID number and expiration date, if there is one, clearly visible. If your certificate has expired, it will not be valid to exempt you from sales tax, so please be sure your certificate is current before sending it. These certificates can be emailed to us at, or faxed to us at 1-810-655-6667.